Are you looking up my nose? Positioning of your web cam!

 

Proper positioning of your web cam in a virtual meeting

 

What if the first thing the you see when you log in to a webinar is this?

 

Ewwwww…………….nostrils, nose hair and a VERY unflattering face angle?  Really?  You are better than that!  You can DO better than that!

If this is the first thing your attendees see when they log in to your next virtual meeting, webinar or online event do you think they will likely question the confidence and leadership of the meeting?  Of COURSE they will!  But they won’t say one word about it.  The bar is still set very very low for engaging online meetings and virtual events.

 

 Positioning of your web cam

During a virtual meeting we are hopefully all working toward adapting our in-person skills to the virtual environment.  Unless you are extremely tall or extremely short you typically won’t experience this type of sharp angle when you meet someone in-person.  Even if there is an extreme height difference in-person the nose isn’t usually the first thing you notice as in virtual presentations. The 3D experience is much different than the 2D experience.

 

Here is an example of the lengths I go to in order to achieve the best camera angle if I don’t have access to an external web cam

 Positioning of your web cam

This photo was taken in my dining room while prepping to be on camera.  Since I travel so much for work I also find things in hotel rooms to prop the computer on.  I have used ice buckets, coffee machines and even pillows!

 

If you share your web cam stories with me I will provide complimentary feedback on the design of your virtual office space.  We love real time stories about YOU!  Please send an email to info@everythingwebinar.com.

 

Our next FREE informational webinar entitled “The World of Webinars: Where to Start” will be hosted on April 16, 2019 @ 13:00 PDT 16:00 EDT 21:00 BST 22:00 CEST

JOIN HERE